- An Encyclopaedia on Chinese History, Literature and Art
About [Location: HOME > Literature > Four Categories > Historiography > Geography > Yuanfeng jiuyu zhi]

Chinese Literature
Yuanfeng jiuyu zhi 元豐九域志

The Four Categories of Literature
Yuanfeng jiuyu zhi 元豐九域志 "Treatise of the Nine Regions from the Yuanfeng reign (1078-1085)" is an imperial geography from the Northern Song period 北宋 (960-1126). It was compiled on imperial order by Wang Cun 王存, Zeng Zhao 曾肇 and Li Dechu 李德芻. The latter has also written a geographical treatise on local administration, the Yuanfeng junxian zhi 元豐郡縣志. The imperial geography comprises 10 juan "scrolls", including descriptions covering the four capitals (sijing 四京), the 23 provinces (lu 路 "circuits") and administration units beyond imperial territory (huawaizhou 化外州), like the native prefectures (jimizhou 羈縻州) of aboriginal tribes in the southwest. Below the circuit (provincial) level each prefecture is described, the geographical circumstances, household numbers, the main local products, the historical development of the location, and garrisons.
The Yuanfeng jiuyu zhi is the most detailed geographic description of every region of the Song empire. A modern reprint was published by the Zhonghua shuju press 中華書局 in 1984.

Source: Wei Songshan 魏嵩山 (1992), "Yuanfeng jiuyu zhi 元豐九域志", in: Zhongguo da baike quanshu 中國大百科全書, Zhongguo lishi 中國歷史 (Beijing/Shanghai: Zhongguo da baike quanshu chubanshe), Vol. 3, p. 1454.

September 13, 2010 © Ulrich Theobald · Mail
Chinese Literature over time