Lidai jishi nianbiao 歷代紀事年表 ( - An Encyclopaedia on Chinese History, Literature and Art
About [Location: HOME > Literature > Four Categories > Historiography > Alternative Histories > Lidai jishi nianbiao]

Chinese Literature
Lidai jishi nianbiao 歷代紀事年表

The Four Categories of Literature
(Qinding) Lidai jishi nianbiao (欽定)歷代紀事年表 "(Imperially endorsed) Year tables of historical events" is a universal chronicle arranged in tables compiled on imperial order by a team under the supervision of Zhou Qingyuan 周清源 and Wang Zhishu 王之樞. The 200-juan long text was begun during the southern inspection tour of the Kangxi Emperor 康熙 of the Qing dynasty 清 (1644-1911) in 1707 and finished in 1712. It was based on a book submitted to the throne by 布衣襲士炯, but this version ended in the Sui period 隋 (581-618). The new arrangement began during the reign of the mythical Emperor Yao 堯 an ended in 1368, the end of the Yuan period 元 (1279-1368). The tables are arranged in years, and, wherever needed, the horizontal lines represent regional states of competing dynasties and states. The first line in all cases are occupied by the rightful dynasty. For each age, the method is explained in a preface. The texts in the "cells" lists the most important events, and therefore can be used as a very helpful reference book on Chinese history.

Source: Li Xueqin 李學勤, Lü Wenyu 呂文鬰 (ed. 1996), Siku da cidian 四庫大辭典 (Changchun: Jilin daxue chubanshe), Vol. 1, p. 929.


February 15, 2016 © Ulrich Theobald · Mail
Chinese Literature over time