- An Encyclopaedia on Chinese History, Literature and Art
About [Location: HOME > Literature > Four Categories > Historiography > Bibliographies and Indexes > Quanshu yiwen zhi]

Chinese Literature
Quanshu yiwen zhi 全蜀藝文志

The Four Categories of Literature
Quanshu yiwen zhi 全蜀藝文志 "Catalogue of all books of Shu" is an annotated catalogue of writings originating in the province of Sichuan (Shu 蜀) written by the Ming period 明 (1368-1644) scholar Zhou Fujun 周復俊 (1496-1574). Zhou Fujun, courtesy name Zhou Ziyu 周子吁, came from Kunshan 昆山, Jiangsu, was a director (langzhong 郎中) in the Ministry of Works (gongbu 工部), provincial administration commissioner (buzhengshi 布政使) of Yunnan and vice surveillance commissioner (anchasi fushi 按察司副使) in Sichuan. His 64 juan "scrolls" long book is a revised catalogue of important literary works of Sichuan, based on the catalogue Chengdu wenlei 成都文類 by the Song period 宋 (960-1279) scholar Yuan Yueyou 袁說友. During his time in Sichuan, Zhou Fujun collected information about local poems and prose writings. The catalogue is a very important information about the existence of books that are long since lost, like Luo Bi's 羅泌 Xingmingpu 姓名譜, Fei Zhu's 費著 Guqipu 古器譜, or Li Shangyin's 李商隱 Chongyangting ming 重陽亭銘. Each book is commented by Zhou Fujun, and he provides further information on the author and the particular writing.
There is a supplement called Buxu quanshu yiwen zhi 補續全蜀藝文志 compiled by the Qing period 清 (1644-1911) scholars Fu Yingfang 杜應芳 and Hu Chengzhao 胡承詔.


Source: Li Xueqin 李學勤, Lü Wenyu 呂文鬰 (ed. 1996), Siku da cidian 四庫大辭典 (Changchun: Jilin daxue chubanshe), Vol. 1, p. 2876.

April 9, 2012 © Ulrich Theobald · Mail
Chinese Literature over time