An Encyclopaedia on Chinese History, Literature and Art

Shu-Han Dynasty 蜀漢 (221-263)

Oct 30, 2011 © Ulrich Theobald

The Shu-Han dynasty 蜀漢 (221-263) ruled over one of the Three Kingdoms 三國 (220~280). It was founded by Liu Bei 劉備 (Emperor Zhaolie 漢昭烈帝, r. 221-222). While Shu 蜀 is the name of the region (modern Sichuan), the empire is also called Shu-Han because Liu Bei claimed descendancy of the ruling family of the Han dynasty 漢 (206 BCE-220 CE) and saw himself as the righteous successor to the Han, while historians rather gave preference to the Wei dynasty 曹魏 (220-265) that ruled over northern China.

Shu-Han Empire 蜀漢 (221-263)
Capital: Chengdu 成都 (modern Chengdu, Sichuan)
posthumous title {temple name} personal name reign periods (nianhao 年號)
Shu Zhaoliedi 蜀昭烈帝
The First Ruler (Shu Xianzhu) 蜀先主 (r. 221-222)
Liu Bei 劉備 Zhangwu 章武 (221-222)
The Last Ruler (Shu Houzhu) 蜀後主 (r. 223-263)
Duke of Anle 安樂公
Liu Shan (!) 劉禪 Jianxing 建興 (223-237)
Yanxi 延熙 (238-257)
Jingyao 景耀 (258-262)
Yanxing 炎興 (263)
280 empire of Shu-Han conquered by Wei 曹魏 (220-265)
Zhonguo lishi da cidian bianzuan weiyuanhui 《中國歷史大辭典》編纂委員會, ed. (2000). Zhongguo lishi da cidian 中國歷史大辭典 (Shanghai: Shanghai cishu chubanshe), Vol.2, 3315-3316.