An Encyclopaedia on Chinese History, Literature and Art

jiusi wujian 九寺五監, the Nine Courts and Five Directorates

Jul 22, 2017 © Ulrich Theobald

The Nine Courts and Five Directorates (jiusi wujian 九寺五監) were agencies of the central government of China throughout imperial times. The heads of the Nine Courts were known as the Nine Chamberlains (jiuqing 九卿).

Table 1. The Nine Courts (jiusi 九寺)
太府寺 taifusi Court of the Imperial Treasury Ministry of Revenue - money
司農寺 sinongsi Court of the National Granaries Ministry of Revenue - grain
宗正寺 zongzhengsi Court of the Imperial Clan Ministry of Rites - imperial house
太常寺 taichangsi Court of Imperial Sacrifices Ministry of Rites - sacrifices
光祿寺 guanglusi Court of Imperial Entertainments Ministry of Rites - banquets
鴻臚寺 honglusi Court of State Ceremonial Ministry of Rites - foreign affairs
衛尉寺 weiweisi Court of the Imperial Regalia Ministry of War - equipment
太僕寺 taipusi Court of the Imperial Stud Ministry of War - cavalry
大理寺 dalisi Court of Judicial Review Ministry of Justice
Table 2. The Five Directorates (wujian 五監)
國子監 guozijian Directorate of Education Ministry of Personnel
軍器監 junqijian Directorate of Armaments Ministry of Works
少府監 shaofujian Directorate for Imperial Manufactories Ministry of Works
將作監 jiangzuojian Directorate for the Palace Buildings Ministry of Works
都水監 dushuijian Directorate of Waterways Ministry of Works
[長秋監] changqiujian Directorate of Palace Domestic Service (Sui)
[司天監] sitianjian Directorate of Astronomy (Song)